‘Tis the Season of Giving

Christmas is always my favorite part of the year. There is usually a certain feeling in the air–a happiness, an excitement felt everywhere.

I also love the fact that most people take the time to meet old friends, catch up and reunite. But most of all, I love Christmas because it gives everyone an opportunity to give something to the people they care about, love or want to give thanks to. It also doesn’t hurt to be the recipient of these gifts. 🙂

I want to take the opportunity  in this post to thank the people who took the time to plan, think, buy and wrap something for me this Christmas. No matter how big or small it was, rest assured that it was greatly appreciated.

Accessories Organizer from my co-worker, Belle

Accessories Organizer from my co-worker, Belle

I love how people give you gifts you truly need without them even asking you. The accessories organizer from my colleague was placed in good use immediately after I received it. I did not wait for Christmas Day anymore!

Chocolates from my co-worker, Jolly

Chocolates from my co-worker, Jolly

I am not really a fan of giving (or receiving) food as gifts on any occasion, but of course I loved the chocolates! It only happened to be dark ones, though so I had to let my boyfriend eat them, haha. I was not able to get even a small bite.

Shaeffer Pen with Engraved Name from my Boss, Sam

Shaeffer Pen with Engraved Name from my Boss, Sam

I love expensive pens! Basically because I cannot afford them or should I say I do not want to buy them because of their price so I am truly happy to get one. I was able to receive a Parker pen with my name on it a few months back for my birthday but I am happy that I have an alternative pen to use. You can buy Parker or Sheaffer pens in any National Bookstore branches and have them engraved.

Starbucks Planner through the help of co-workersBelle and Meg and my sister Micah

Starbucks Planner through the help of co-workers Belle and Meg and my sister Micah

I did not exactly receive the planner as a gift but I was able to get it through the help of three people. Belle gave me more than ten stickers, Meg gave me one sticker, and my sister bought me and my parents a drink each to complete it! Starbucks planners come in black, white and green. Redemption is until January 8, 2013 so hurry with your stickers!

Organic Wax and Salve from co-worker, Meg

Organic Wax and Salve from co-worker, Meg

My co-worker Meg gave me her unused Wax and Salve from Nanny Rose,  Filipino-made products, a few weeks before Christmas. This set was not exactly her Christmas gift to me (she gave me another one) but I still consider this as part of my Christmas gifts. I love Pinoy-made organic beauty products! My favorite is Venus and Mars Naturals but I love that Meg was able to introduce me to another new brand through her gift.

Two-Way Powder from my sister Zipporah, Covergirl lipstick from Princess, and LA girl lipstick from my sister Micah

Maybelline Two-Way Powder from my sister Zipporah, Covergirl lipstick from Princess, and LA girl lipstick from my sister Micah

Make-up is something I also want to buy but I am very hesitant to do so. I am not sure why, but I get self-conscious every time I go to stores selling make up or beauty products because I always feel like I am being judged. I always hurry in choosing what I want to get so that the sales lady will not have an opportunity to chat me up about my beauty needs, regimen or simply talk about my skin.  So I really like it when people give me make-up as a gift on any occasion. It saves me the time and effort to actually buy them myself. All the items on the picture are things I really wanted to buy and they were no longer surprises because I specifically requested for them. I love the pink Covergirl lipstick because this is the shade I have been wanting to buy for so long minus the shimmer. All three products can be bought at any SM Departments Store’s Beauty Section.

Seamless Underwear from my Mom

Seamless Underwear from my Mom

Mother knows best! Seamless panties are one of God’s beautiful creations, haha. I love wearing tight bandage skirts and tight pants and I believe those should be worn with either t-back or seamless underwear. Since I am not at all comfortable with wearing a T-back or G-string, I find seamless panties a must-have!

T-back Underwear from my cousin (wahaha)

T-back Underwear from my cousin (wahaha)

As I was saying, I am not at all comfortable with T-back or G-string so this gift came as a total surprise! Anyway, I love the color and the brand La Senza so I am keeping this for future use (wink wink).

Bag, Calendar, Mantra Ring and Purse from my boyfriend

Bag, Calendar, Mantra Ring and Purse from my boyfriend

Germil’s gifts for me are random things I need. I do not like surprises so I usually tell him what I want to receive from him. I know most people would attest that it is always nice to have an element of surprise especially from someone special, but I believe that telling my boyfriend what I want or need would save him the burden of thinking what I would be happy to get. What do you think?

The bag is from Grab by SM Department Store, purse is from Team Manila, and the mantra ring and cute calendar are both from Papemelroti. The latter is another favorite Filipino brand that sells recycled products from paper, metal, wood, clay, etc. I personally love their recycled boxes, leather mantra rings and other jewelry. This is my go-to store for unique and earth-friendly (and very affordable) gift ideas. I frequent their branches at SM Manila and Robinson’s Ermita.

The Blouse I am wearing (not my boyfriend) was the fift from my sister, Micah.

The Blouse I am wearing (not my boyfriend) was the fift from my sister, Micah.

The ruffled see-through blouse from Shapes is another gift from my sister Micah. I love the color and the print so much that I wore it for our Christmas get-together. Christmas also happens to be her birthday so I wanted to wear what she gave me.

Beetle Ring from co-worker, Aiza

Beetle Ring from co-worker, Aiza

This gift is one of my favorites. I collect unique, quirky rings and this one is definitely a great addition to my small collection. It is sad that I have lost so many wonderful rings over the years that I could have added to my collection but hopefully, I will receive more rings as gifts so I can expand my ring collection. (hint hint)

Team Manila Mug and random Necklace from my Monita

Team Manila Mug and random Necklace from my Monita

I received a Team Manila mug and a random necklace from my Monita at work, Joann. I wrote both of these items on my wish list so I already expected to get them. Team Manila is Filipino brand that sells all types of lifestyle merchandise from apparel, accessories to notebooks, films and lomo cameras with a taste of Filipino culture. Their biggest branch is at SM Mall of Asia.

Personalized Keychain from my trainee, Cleste

Personalized Key chain from my trainee, Celeste

 I got a little personalized gift form one of my trainees, Celeste. She gave everyone in class a letter key chain which I think is really cool. Personalized trinkets are great gifts because they are inexpensive but well thought of. The recipients will always feel appreciated when they receive them. For personalized accessories that would be great as gifts, check out one of my favorite online shops, Anagon Collection.

Card Case from my trainee, Colin

Card Case from my trainee, Colin

I got another gift from one of my trainees, this time a credit card (or any card I guess) holder. He said that he remembered that I got fraud charges on my Citibank card last time so he thought of giving me something to safe keep them. That is very thoughtful, Colin!

Facial Masks and Bronzer from Meg (again!)

Facial Masks and Bronzer from Meg (again!)

The same person who gave me the Nanny Rose organic wax and salve gifted me with two more beauty products! I received two Vitamin C and Neroli (whatever that is) facial masks and a Healthy Glow Bronzer from e.l.f. My co-worker Meg is actually a beauty junkie and has tons of beauty products at home so it is no wonder that she likes to give them as gifts as well. It is very funny that she gave me this bronzer because I posted something in Facebook saying that I wish someone will be kind enough to give me a blush or bronzer for Christmas. I am glad she took it seriously! Now my make up must buy list is complete! The facial masks are available at Watson’s while e.l.f. cosmetics are available in all leading beauty stores and department stores.

Again, a big thanks to everyone who took the time to give me a gift this Christmas. May this post serve as my big thank you to all of you. For the readers, I hope this very personal post serve as a helpful list of gift ideas that you can use for Christmas or any other occasion.

Happy Holidays!

Until the next post,

CLAIRE

Leave a Reply

