5 Reasons Why You Should Visit Aozora Japanese Cafe + Bistro

Living in Imus, Cavite for more than five years has made me a little lazy to travel to Manila. Although I would still occasionally see my friends from my former job once in a while, I no longer have the patience to travel for hours amid heavy traffic and too much pollution.

Whenever I would want a quick getaway, my first choice would be Tagaytay. Not only is it pretty close to my place, there is also a good selection of places to visit and dine. 

Lately though, I have noticed that most of the restaurants and eating places range from breakfast food, pasta and bulalo and everytime I would go to Tagaytay to eat, I would go to the same places over and over again. Good thing a new place serving Japanese food has just opened and I couldn’t be happier.

After visiting it a few weeks ago, I was able to sample the food and experience the place. To make the convincing a little bit easier, here is my list of five reasons why you should go to Aozora Japanese Cafe and Bistro on your next Tagaytay getaway:

1. The view is to die for. 

I know that when talking about a restaurant, the taste of food should be the priority. But for me, the ambiance and the view should come first. Haha. I usually do not dine alone–I would always have either my family or my boyfriend with me so I want to make sure we feel relaxed. It would definitely not hurt that the background of the photos is spectacular!

P1130184.JPG

Lounge time, yes?


P1130197.JPG

180 degree view


P1130194

Uninterrupted Skyline view

2. They serve authentic Japanese food. 

We were able to have a little chat with the owner, Miss Christine Villongco, and were informed that the Sashimi they serve in the restaurant comes all the way from Japan.

P1130211.JPG

Best Sashimi I have ever had 🙂

Although Sashimi is a fave of mine, I would give high praises  to the other food I was able to sample:

P1130225.JPG

Chicken Katsu

P1130227.JPG

P1130218.JPG

Tempura


P1130215.JPG

Kani Salad

To know more about the menu, click here.

 

3. The interiors are modern and classy. 

If in case you visit Aozora on a busy day and you do not get to have a space in the view deck, the inside of the restaurant is pretty awesome, too.

 

4. The restaurant is at the rooftop of Domicillo Tagaytay, a gem of a boutique hotel in the area. 

It is pretty much two birds with one stone! If you wish to stay overnight (or longer) in Tagaytay, you can just stay at Domicillo and eat at Aozora when you get hungry.

Domicillo is a minimalist bed and breakfast that has a romantic vibe, perfect for couples. It is considered as a passion project of Rene Alcala, and designed by Budji Layug.

Photos borrowed from Domicillo Tagaytay’s Facebook account3

5. The owner was super nice and accommodating. 

The owner, Miss Christine Villongco was not only accommodating in answering our questions, she also ate with us so she can explain each dish. She also told us about her other cafe in Maginhawa Street in Quezon City.

P1130208.JPG

Co-blogger Obie chatting with the Miss Christine


P1130237.JPG

Miss Christine and I posing at the backdrop used for a previous event

 

AOZORA Japanese Cafe + Bistro
Domicillo Hotel, KM 58 Gen. E. Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay City, Cavite
FacebookAozora Japanese Cafe + Bistro
Operating Hours: Monday – Sunday: 7:00 am – 10:00 pm
Contact: Christine Villongco
Mobile: +63 906 350-1704, +63 915 503-8800
Telephone: +63 46 413-4486
Email: chitsarriola@yahoo.com.ph

I hope my five reasons were enough to make you want to eat at Aozora Japanese Cafe and Bistro. And once you’ve sampled their food and experienced their view, please share your thoughts here too!

 

Until next time, 

CLAIRE

Leave a Reply

